Monitoring framework image

 

Volunteer Monitoring Representatives

We are here to help you succeed!

Let us help you reach the right person.

If you have specific questions about volunteer monitoring and VM programs, use the USEPA list serve to ask questions to the community.

If you have general questions or would like to send feeback about this Website, direct your remarks to Barb and Danielle (see below).

If you would like to submit material for this website or newsletter, such as a success story, article, news announcement, photos or additional link(s) for the resources webpage, then contact Barb.

If you are interested in serving on the editorial board, contact Alice Mayio or Barb Horn.

Last, if you'd like to subscribe or unsubscribe from Volunteer Monitoring News, please send an email to Alice Mayio.

Photo of Barb Horn
Barbara Horn
(970) 382-6667
barb.horn@state.co.us

Ms. Horn has worked on water quality issues since 1986 as an aquatic biologist for the Colorado Dept. of Parks and Wildlife. She founded the Rivers of Colorado Water Watch Network as a mechanism to obtain water quality data for the Clean Water Act process. This is a volunteer monitoring program which annually monitors over 400 stations on 500 plus rivers in Colorado for chemical, physical and biological parameters. She is chair of the 17 year old Rocky Mountain Watershed Network, an organization that promotes and supports volunteer monitoring programs at the regional, state and watershed levels. She is current Chair of the Colorado Water Quality Monitoring Council and is the Volunteer Monitoring representative on the National Water Quality Monitoring Council. A Colorado native, she claims she reached her maximum potential at five years of age and has been trying to get it back since.

NWQMC Volunteer Monitoring Representative
Water Resource Specialist, Colorado Parks and Wildlife

Photo of Danielle Donkersloot
Danielle Donkersloot
(609) 633-9241
Danielle.Donkersloot@dep.state.nj.us

NWQMC Volunteer Monitoring Alternate Representative
Principal Environmental Specialist

 

EPA Regional Volunteer Monitoring Contacts

EPA Region States
1 CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT
2 NJ, NY, PR, VI
3 DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV
4 AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN
5 IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI
6 AR, LA, NM, OK, TX
7 IA, KS, MO, NE
8 CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY
9 AZ, HI, NV, CA
10 OR, WA, ID, AK

Contacts for other EPA regions not known at this time. Last modified: 2/1/2014

EPA Region Name Email Phone Comment
4 Katherine (Katie) Synder snyder.katherine@epa.gov 404-562-9840 For SC only
5 Peter Jackson Jackson.peter@epamail.epa.gov 312-886-3894  
8 Peter Ismert ismert.peter@epa.gov 303-312-6215  

 

State Volunteer Monitoring Contacts

Not all state contacts are known at this time, nor does every state have a representative. Last modified: 2/1/2014

EPA Region State Name Email Phone Agency
1 CT Mike Beauchene   860-424-4185  
1 CT Chris Bellucci Christopher.bellucci@ct.gov    
1 MA Warren Kimball Warren.Kimball@state.ma.us   Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
1 MA Arthur Johnson Arthur.johnson@state.ma.us, 508-767-2873  
1 ME Dave Courtemanch Dave.L.courtemanche@maine.gov 207-592-3157  
1 ME Scott Williams   207-783-7733  
1 NH Ken Edwardson   603-271-8864  
1 NH Ted Walsh   603-271-2083  
1 NH Gregg Comstock gcomstock@des.state.nh.us    
1 RI Connie Carey   401-222-3961 x7239  
1 RI Linda Green lgreen@uri.edu 401-874-2905  
1 RI Sue Kiernan Sue.kiernan@dem.ri.gov    
1 VT Jim Kellog   802-241-1366  
1 VT Neil Kamman neil.kamman@state.vt.us 802-241-3795 Vermont Department of Quality
2 NJ Danielle Donkersloot Danielle.Donkersloot@dep.state.nj.us   NJ Department of Environmental Protection
2 NY Bill Andrews   518-402-8180  
2 NY Scott Kishbaugh sakishba@gw.dec.state.ny.us 518-402-8286  
3 DE John Schneider   302-739-9939  
3 MD Dan Boward dboward@dnr.state.md.us 410.260.8605 Maryland Department of Natural Resources
3 MD Matt Stover   410-537-3611  
3 PA Tony Shaw tshaw@pa.us 717-787-9637 Pennsylvannia Department of Environmental Protection
3 PA Rodney Kime   717-783-4423  
3 VA Rich Browder richard.browder@DEQ.virginia.gov    
3 WV John Wirts john.c.wirts@wv.gov 304-926-0499 WV Department of Environmental Protection
4 AL Lynn Sisk   334-271-7826  
4 FL Gail Sloan   850-245-8512  
4 GA Elizabeth Booth   404-675-6236  
4 GA Harold Harbert   404-675-6236  
4 GA Tara Muenz tara.muenz@dnr.state.ga.us 404.675.1635  
4 KY Amy Stewart   502-564-3410 x4853  
4 MS Natalie Segrest   601-961-5150  
4 SC David Chestnut chestnde@dhec.sc.gov   South Carolina Department of Health
5 IL Gregg Good   217-782-3362  
5 IN Jody Arthur   317-308-3179  
5 MI Bill Dimond dimondw@michigan.gov 517-241-9565 Michigan Department of Natural Resources
5 MN Laurie Sovell laurie.sovell@state.mn.us 651-757-2750 MN Pollution Control Agency
5 OH Jeff Reynolds   614-644-3635  
5 WI Kris Stepenuck kfstepenuck@wisc.edu 608-265-3887 University of Wisconsin Extn and Dept of Natural Resources
6 NM Neal Schaeffer neal.schaeffer@state.nm.us   New Mexico Environment Department¬†
7 IA Mary Skopec Mary.Skopec@dnr.iowa.gov 319-335-1579 Iowa Department of Natural Resources
7 MO John Ford   573-751-7024  
8 CO Aimee Konowal aimee.konowal@state.co.us 303.692.3530 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
8 MT Stephen Fernandez   406-444-5315  
8 ND Grant Neuharth   701-328-5253  
8 ND Gary Bracht¬†   701-328-5227  
8 SD Shannon Minerich¬†   605-773-4055  
8 UT Jim Harris jamesharris@utah.gov 801-536-4360 Utah Department of Environmental Quality
8 WY David Waterstreet   307-777-6709  
9 CA Shakoora Azimi-Gaylan   916-341-5508  
9 CA Jon Marshack   916-341-5514  
9 CA Erick Burres eburres@waterboards.ca.gov 213-576-6788 State Water Resources Control Board
10 ID Jason Pappani   208-373-0515  
10 OR Steve Hansen Steve@deq.state.or.us 503.693.5737 Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
10 OR Rich Miller rmiller@pdx.edu   Oregon Citizen's Lake Watch @ Portland State Univ

 

Please contact Barb Horn to update your contact information.