NWQMC Banner

Volunteer Monitoring

Volunteer Monitoring Representatives

We are here to help you succeed!

Let us help you reach the right person.

If you have specific questions about volunteer monitoring and VM programs, use the USEPA list serve to ask questions to the community.

If you have general questions or would like to send feeback about this Website, direct your remarks to Barb and Danielle (see below).

If you would like to submit material for this website or newsletter, such as a success story, article, news announcement, photos or additional link(s) for the resources webpage, then contact Barb.

If you are interested in serving on the editorial board, contact Alice Mayio or Danielle Donkersloot.

Last, if you'd like to subscribe or unsubscribe from Volunteer Monitoring News, please send an email to Alice Mayio.

Photo of Danielle Donkersloot
Danielle Donkersloot
Environmental Specialist
Citizen Science Coordinator
(609) 633-9241
Danielle.Donkersloot@dep.state.nj.us

NWQMC Volunteer Monitoring Representative

Danielle Donkersloot is an Environmental Specialist and has worked with the NJ Department of Environmental Protection for 15 years.  She currently serves as the Citizen Science Program Manager in the Office of Coastal and Land Use Planning.  Ms. Donkersloot has vast experience developing and coordinating volunteer monitoring and citizen science programs.  She began her career in state service working with nonprofit organizations and the Department on data sharing and communication planning for rivers, streams and lakes. Her program has developed a pathway for volunteer collected data to be used at the agency for assessment and restoration efforts.  She is a leader in the field of volunteer monitoring and continues building of networks and partnerships across the water community.  Ms. Donkersloots current focus is developing a new Citizen Science Monitoring Program for coastal resiliency and living shorelines. 

Ms. Donkersloot and her husband, James, live in the Delaware River Watershed with their two toddlers, Eleanor and Owen, and two dogs, Cora and Rue.  When she is not working, Danielle enjoys time outdoors with her family.

Julie Vastine photo
Julie Vastine

vastine@dickinson.edu

NWQMC Volunteer Monitoring Alternate Representative

Julie Vastine is the director of the Alliance for Aquatic Resource Monitoring (ALLARM) at Dickinson College.  She is responsible for leadership of the ALLARM program and providing technical assistance to volunteer monitoring communities.  Julie has worked in the environmental field for fourteen years, including time in Washington, D.C. with the international and human rights organization, EarthRights International. A native of the Chesapeake Bay, Julie enjoys working with community organizations to build their capacity to monitor streams and to monitor, protect, and restore water quality in Pennsylvania.

 

EPA Regional Volunteer Monitoring Contacts

EPA Region States
1 CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT
2 NJ, NY, PR, VI
3 DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV
4 AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN
5 IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI
6 AR, LA, NM, OK, TX
7 IA, KS, MO, NE
8 CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY
9 AZ, HI, NV, CA
10 OR, WA, ID, AK

Contacts for other EPA regions not known at this time. Last modified: 2/1/2014

EPA Region Name Email Phone Comment
4 Katherine (Katie) Synder snyder.katherine@epa.gov 404-562-9840 For SC only
5 Peter Jackson Jackson.peter@epamail.epa.gov 312-886-3894  
8 Peter Ismert ismert.peter@epa.gov 303-312-6215  

 

State Volunteer Monitoring Contacts

Not all state contacts are known at this time, nor does every state have a representative. Last modified: 2/1/2014

EPA Region State Name Email Phone Agency
1 CT Mike Beauchene   860-424-4185  
1 CT Chris Bellucci Christopher.bellucci@ct.gov    
1 MA Warren Kimball Warren.Kimball@state.ma.us   Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
1 MA Arthur Johnson Arthur.johnson@state.ma.us, 508-767-2873  
1 ME Dave Courtemanch Dave.L.courtemanche@maine.gov 207-592-3157  
1 ME Scott Williams   207-783-7733  
1 NH Ken Edwardson   603-271-8864  
1 NH Ted Walsh   603-271-2083  
1 NH Gregg Comstock gcomstock@des.state.nh.us    
1 RI Connie Carey   401-222-3961 x7239  
1 RI Linda Green lgreen@uri.edu 401-874-2905  
1 RI Sue Kiernan Sue.kiernan@dem.ri.gov    
1 VT Jim Kellog   802-241-1366  
1 VT Neil Kamman neil.kamman@state.vt.us 802-241-3795 Vermont Department of Quality
2 NJ Danielle Donkersloot Danielle.Donkersloot@dep.state.nj.us   NJ Department of Environmental Protection
2 NY Bill Andrews   518-402-8180  
2 NY Scott Kishbaugh sakishba@gw.dec.state.ny.us 518-402-8286  
3 DE John Schneider   302-739-9939  
3 MD Dan Boward dboward@dnr.state.md.us 410.260.8605 Maryland Department of Natural Resources
3 MD Matt Stover   410-537-3611  
3 PA Tony Shaw tshaw@pa.us 717-787-9637 Pennsylvannia Department of Environmental Protection
3 PA Rodney Kime   717-783-4423  
3 VA Rich Browder richard.browder@DEQ.virginia.gov    
3 WV John Wirts john.c.wirts@wv.gov 304-926-0499 WV Department of Environmental Protection
4 AL Lynn Sisk   334-271-7826  
4 FL Gail Sloan   850-245-8512  
4 GA Elizabeth Booth   404-675-6236  
4 GA Harold Harbert   404-675-6236  
4 GA Tara Muenz tara.muenz@dnr.state.ga.us 404.675.1635  
4 KY Amy Stewart   502-564-3410 x4853  
4 MS Natalie Segrest   601-961-5150  
4 SC David Chestnut chestnde@dhec.sc.gov   South Carolina Department of Health
5 IL Gregg Good   217-782-3362  
5 IN Jody Arthur   317-308-3179  
5 MI Bill Dimond dimondw@michigan.gov 517-241-9565 Michigan Department of Natural Resources
5 MN Laurie Sovell laurie.sovell@state.mn.us 651-757-2750 MN Pollution Control Agency
5 OH Jeff Reynolds   614-644-3635  
5 WI Kris Stepenuck kfstepenuck@wisc.edu 608-265-3887 University of Wisconsin Extn and Dept of Natural Resources
6 NM Neal Schaeffer neal.schaeffer@state.nm.us   New Mexico Environment Department 
7 IA Mary Skopec Mary.Skopec@dnr.iowa.gov 319-335-1579 Iowa Department of Natural Resources
7 MO John Ford   573-751-7024  
8 CO Aimee Konowal aimee.konowal@state.co.us 303.692.3530 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
8 MT Stephen Fernandez   406-444-5315  
8 ND Grant Neuharth   701-328-5253  
8 ND Gary Bracht    701-328-5227  
8 SD Shannon Minerich    605-773-4055  
8 UT Jim Harris jamesharris@utah.gov 801-536-4360 Utah Department of Environmental Quality
8 WY David Waterstreet   307-777-6709  
9 CA Shakoora Azimi-Gaylan   916-341-5508  
9 CA Jon Marshack   916-341-5514  
9 CA Erick Burres eburres@waterboards.ca.gov 213-576-6788 State Water Resources Control Board
10 ID Jason Pappani   208-373-0515  
10 OR Steve Hansen Steve@deq.state.or.us 503.693.5737 Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
10 OR Rich Miller rmiller@pdx.edu   Oregon Citizen's Lake Watch @ Portland State Univ

 

Please contact us to update your contact information.