NWQMC Banner

About the Council

Members of the Council

Federal | Academia | Tribal | States | Interstate | Industry/Local/Other || Membership Terms

1 Member of the National Water Quality Monitoring Council
* Council Steering Committee member

Federal Representation

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Office of Wetlands, Oceans and Watersheds (OWOW)
Susan Holdsworth1, * Council Co-Chair, Chief of Monitoring Branch Washington, DC
Office of Research and Development (ORD)
Mike McDonald1 Representative Research Triangle Park,
Steve Wendelken Alternate, Co-Chair, Methods Board Cincinnati, OH

U.S. Department of the Interior

U.S. Geological Survey

Water Mission Area
Gary Rowe1, * Council Co-Chair (NAWQA), Co-Chair, National Monitoring Network for U.S. Coastal Waters & Tributaries Lakewood, CO
Candice Hopkins* Council Exec. Secretary; Co-Chair, Collaboration & Outreach Workgroup;
Co-Chair, 2014 Conference
Boise, ID
Dan Sullivan* Co-Chair, Methods Board; Co-Webmaster; NEMI Chair Middleton, WI
Jim Kreft Lead Architect, Water Quality Portal Middleton, WI
Mike McHale* Co-Chair, National Network of Reference Watersheds Troy, NY
Sheri Alcalde Administrator for Logistics & Travel Coordination Reston, VA
Kim Martz Exec. Sec. of Collaboration & Outreach Workgroup; Newsletter Design & Layout; Co-Webmaster Reston, VA

Bureau of Land Management

Scott Miller Representative Denver, CO

National Park Service

Water Resources Division
Alan Ellsworth1 Representative Fort Collins, CO
Jennifer Back Alternate Fort Collins, CO

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Mike Higgins1 Representative Fort Collins, CO

U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. Forest Service
Michael Eberle1 Representative Washington, DC
Chris Carlson Alternate Arlington, VA
Tracy Hancock Alternate Washington, DC
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Karma Anderson1 Representative Portland, OR
Vacant Alternate  

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Chandra Pathak1 Representative Washington, DC
Erich Emery Alternate Cincinnati, OH

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Marie DeLorenzo1 Representative Charleston, SC
Dennis Apeti Alternate Silver Spring, MD


University of Iowa

Mary Skopec1 Representative Iowa City, IA

Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)

Jared Bales Representative Cambridge, MA
Danielle Tijerina Alternate Cambridge, MA


National Tribal Water Council

Nancy Schuldt1 Representative Cloquet, MN
Vacant Alternate  

State Representative for EPA Regions

Region 1: New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Chris Bellucci1 Representative Hartford, CT
Vacant Alternate  

Region 2: New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Leslie McGeorge1 Representative, Co-Chair, Water Quality Statistics & Assessment Workgroup Trenton, NJ

Region 3: Virginia Department of Environmental Quality

Larry Willis Representative Roanoke, VA

Region 4: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control

Dave Chestnut1 Representative Columbia, SC
Bryan Rabon Alternate Columbia, SC

Region 5: Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Tim Asplund1 Representative Madison, WI

Region 6: Oklahoma Water Resources Board

Monty Porter1 Representative Oklahoma City, OK

Region 7:

Liz Smith Representative Topeka, KS

Region 8: Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality

Jeremy ZumBerge1 Representative Cheyenne, WY

Region 9: California Water Quality Monitoring Council

Nicholas Martorano1 Representative Sacramento, CA

Region 10: Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Aaron Borisenko1 Representative Hillsboro, OR


River Basin Issues

Jason Heath1 Representative Cincinnati, OH

Great Lakes Issues

Madeline Magee1 Representative Madison, WI

Watersheds/Wetlands Interests

Ed Sherwood1 Representative Clearwater, FL
Jay Leverone Alternate Sarasota, FL

Industry/Local/Other Interests

 Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography

Jane Caffrey1 Representative Pensacola, FL
Rachel Noble Alternate Morehead City, NC

Association of Clean Water Administrators

Martha Clark Mettler1 Representative Indianapolis, IN

National Association of Clean Water Agencies (municipal interests)

Jim Dorsch1 Representative Denver, CO

North American Lake Management Society (environmental and watersheds interests)

Jeff Schloss1 Representative Durham, NH
Sara Peel Alternate Warsaw, IN

Association of American State Geologists (geology and groundwater interests)

John Metesh1 Representative Butte, MT

Water Environment Federation (environmental and technical interests)

Amy Kathman1 Representative Alexandria, VA
Seth Brown Alternate Alexandria, VA

Water Quality Management and Interests


Municipal/Drinking Water/Public Health interests

Chris Greene1 Representative Saint Paul, MN

Volunteer Monitoring Community

Danielle Donkersloot1 Representative; Chair, Volunteer Monitoring Council, Co-Chair, Collaboration & Outreach Workgroup Trenton, NJ
Julie Vastine Alternate Carlisle, PA

Global Lake Ecological Observatory Network

Kathleen Weathers1 Representative Millbrook, NY

* Member of Steering Committee of the National Water Quality Monitoring Council

Membership Terms

  • The National Council shall comprise a balanced membership of federal, tribal, interstate, state, local, and municipal governments, watershed groups-and national associations that will include volunteer monitoring groups. The membership will include representatives from organizations that collect, analyze, interpret, disseminate, or use water-quality monitoring information as well as those that develop monitoring technology, guidelines, and/or standards.

  • Total membership of the National Council should not exceed 35 member organizations. Each member organization will designate their representative and an alternate to the National Council.

  • State membership on the National Council will include one State agency representative from each of the 10 Federal regions. Within each region, the Council Steering Committee will solicit representatives of State water-quality monitoring agencies. This will be done in coordination with State officials interested in membership. State members will serve 4-year terms.

  • The Council Co-Chairs will recommend to the Council Steering Committee a minimum of 11 non-government member organizations that have differing viewpoints and water-quality-monitoring and assessment functions. These organizations may represent the following interests: tribal, agriculture, environmental interest groups, industry, local agencies and municipalities, river-basin commissions, and/or associations, universities, and volunteer monitoring groups. These other member organizations will serve 4-year terms and can be redesignated.

  • The USGS and the USEPA will serve as Co-Chairs of the National Council. The USGS will provide the Executive Secretariat for the National Council. Including the USGS and USEPA, Federal membership on the National Council will not exceed 10 representatives and will initially include the following organizations: the U.S. Department of Commerce/NOAA, the Tennessee Valley Authority, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Department of Energy, the USEPA/Offices of Water, the U.S. Department of the Interior/USGS, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Additional Federal member organizations up to a total of 10 can participate as mutually agreed by the Steering Committee of the National Council.

  • Representatives or their alternates are expected to attend all meetings of the National Council. If a member organization is not represented at three consecutive meetings,then the Steering Committee of the National Council may appoint a new member organization to replace the member that has failed to participate.